Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Dietrich Great Pyrenees Kiowa, OK

  • Adult
  • Male
  • Large
  • White / Cream

About

Coat length
Long
House-trained
Yes
Health
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs, children.
Adoption fee
$225.00

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Think you and Dietrich might be a match?

Meet Dietrich

Dietrich is ready to share his story! ?

I spent my life free to roam where I please. Some may think that this was what every dog dreams off. For me, it sucked. I wanted to be with my people and did not understand why they always shut the door on me when I tried to follow them in. I would sit on their porch waiting for them to let me in, but they never did. So, I would go roaming. I would cross busy streets, visit neighbors(some who were not too happy about me being their property), and then eventually go back to plop down on that porch. I am definitely a loyal boy.

My owners decided that it was time for me to find a new home. They reached out to a smaller rescue but they were full. However, that rescue in turn reached out to this rescue. Thanks to a foster stepping up for me, I was able to join this rescue's fluffy butt family! Now I get to come inside the house and be part of the family! My name is Dietrich and I am a 2-year-old, 86lb male Great Pyrenees.
____________________________________________________________________

I am on the search for my forever family. And when I say forever I mean forever. So, only consider adopting me if you can promise me forever NO MATTER WHAT! If you cannot, then please don't take me away from another family that can.

-How can someone adopt me?
The first step is to fill out an adoption app for me at https://www.pyrpawsandfluffytailsrescue.com/adoption-app
Once this app comes in, it will get sent on to my foster family and they will help me decide if we are a match or not.

-Where are you being fostered?
I am being fostered in Tulsa, OK.

-Would I need to come to pick you up?
Yes, you would need to pick me up. This rescue does not send us on transports. It is less stress on us that way. Plus, you and I can already start bonding on the road trip home! ?

-Can I adopt you even though I don't live in Oklahoma?
Yep, I am not opposed to living in another state!

-How do you act when meeting new people?
Friendly.

-What is your personality like?
Calm and laid back. I am playful outside with my foster siblings.

-Do you jump on people?
Yes, usually when my foster gets home. I will jump in excitement of you being back!

-Do you enjoy going places?
I have only been to the vet but did really well there.

-Do you enjoy walks?
I haven’t been on a walk yet.

-Are you leash trained?
I seem to do well on a leash. My foster family used one the first couple of days to lead me around when I was unsure of things.

-How do you do on car rides?
I am great in the car. I like to lie down in the very back.

-Can you be trusted with free-roam of the house when no one is home?
Yes, I have always had free roam of my foster family's entire house and have done very well.

-Where do you stay when no one is home?
I have free roam of the house.

-Where do you sleep at night?
On a dog bed in my foster family's bedroom

-Are you a big chewer?
No. I enjoy the elk antler, but I have not chewed on anything else.

-Are you potty trained?
Yes. I had an accident the first day in the house but none since.. once I learned the routine I was good.

-Are you kennel trained?
I have not needed a kennel. I am great in the house alone.

-Do you like to play fetch?
I haven’t tried playing it.

-Do you like to play in the water?
I tolerated my bath and didn’t mind the rain outside.

-Do you play with toys?
I am not huge on toys, but like to chew the elk antler.

-Would you do okay living in an apartment?
I like to bark. My bark is low and quiet compared to my fosters dogs, but I do bark more than they do. I might be too loud for an apartment.

-Are you a big barker?
Yes. Mostly when I am outside. I love to bark outside. But I will also bark inside if I see or hear something.

-Are you good with other dogs?
Yes.

-How do you act with other dogs around?
Playful outside. I am very lazy inside and nap a lot.

-Are you good with cats?
My foster does not have any so I am unsure.

-Are you good with kids?
Most likely, but I am not around any in my foster home. It sounded like my previous home had children that I did well with. I’m sure I would be great with them.

-Have you shown any signs of food aggression with other animals?
I am fed outside just in case because one of my foster's other dogs gets mean about food. I do not seem to be overly protective. I take treats very well next to the other dogs.

-Have you tried to resource guard anything?
No, I am very laid back.

-Can I hear what your foster has to say about you?
"Dietrich is an absolute sweetheart. It took him 3 days to feel at home. I bathed him and cut all the mats out of his hair. It will take time for the hair to grow back, but it’s already looking better. He is very well-behaved and loves to lay around the house. He will sit and shake for treats. He enjoys playing outside with his two foster Pyrenees. He has very easily fit into our family! Dietrich loves being next to me. When I take a bubble bath, he sleeps right next to the tub. When I cook dinner, he sleeps on the kitchen floor. When I’m reading in the chair, he is laying at my feet. When my morning alarm goes off, he comes to lay his chin on my bed each morning to wake me. I work 9 hours a day and he does very well with the roam of the house while I’m gone. The only bad, or strange, thing he has done is eat my bar of soap (it smelled so good!). Other than that, he has been a perfect house guest! We love him."
____________________________________________________________________

-What are you looking for in your new family?

I believe that I would be okay with any home scenario. I like the dogs in my foster home and play well with them, but I think I would do well as any only dog too. I love people, but if I were an only dog my new family would need to be home most of the day. I am calm and would probably do well with children.

-How much is your adoption fee?
My adoption fee is $225.

That includes DHLPP, Rabies, and Bordatella shots. I will be micro-chipped, heart-worm tested, have a fecal done, be de-wormed, be spayed/neutered, and will be current on heart-worm and flea/tick prevention.

Think you and Dietrich might be a match?

Help provide for Dietrich 's care

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets

Dietrich

Dietrich

  • Great Pyrenees
  • Adult
  • Male