Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Chipster Great Pyrenees Kiowa, OK

  • Adult
  • Male
  • Large
  • White / Cream


Coat length
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs, children.

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Chipster

Chipster's Story
-Written by Chipster, a 2-year-old, 50lb male Great Pyrenees mix.

My life had been figured out before I was ever even brought home. I was meant to be a guardian dog. I was meant to keep a watch on the property. My owner brought me and my brother (Clydester) as puppies, and we grew up outside. We grew up learning our role in the family, and we took it seriously...most of the time. Sometimes we would get into mischief and have some fun, but overall we were pretty good at watching over everything. We never got to come inside, but that was okay because we didn't really know any different. We were used to being outdoors 24/7, through the heat, the cold, and even storms. This was our life. I knew what to expect and things were as good as they could be.

A few weeks ago, there were whispers. Whispers of our owner getting a new job that required our family to move. I wasn't too sure about moving. This was my home after all. I knew the place like the back of my paw. I guess things would work out though. At least, I would be with my least I thought that. I soon found out that my family was trying to rehome me. They reached out to everyone they could think of in hopes that someone would take my brother and me. Everyone was full though, and before we knew it...we were days away from when my owner had to leave and we still did not have a place to go. I was so unsure of what would happen to my brother and I. Thankfully, some awesome foster families stepped up for my brother and I, which allowed this rescue to welcome us to their fluffy butt family.

Suddenly, I was looking out the window of the car watching the only place that I had ever known.. becoming smaller and smaller..until I could no longer see it. I had no idea what was to come but I knew that I was about to start a totally new chapter of my life. Not too long after, I met my foster dad and after my family left I started to check out my new digs. The yard seemed pretty big and I was ready to try and make the best out of it. My owner ended up leading me to the door though. I was quite surprised and really nervous when he encouraged me to come inside with him. I had never been inside a house before. The floor felt slick as I cautiously explored.

It did not take me long to start to feel safe. It did not take me long to figure out how amazing the couch and bed are. It did not take me long to decide that I like A/C. It did not take me long to decide that I like being inside. It did not take me long to decide that I like this new life.

I like getting to be a part of the action and being included in the activities. Energy-wise, I am a good mix of everything. I will have zoomies in the backyard, play with other dogs, then come crash on the couch next to my person. I do an excellent job of reading the room and matching my energy level to that of my family. If you are up for a walk, then I am down. I am still learning not to pull on it though. If you want to play with toys, I am down. I will take as many as you will give me. And sometimes, if you are not watching I will grab the bathroom mat and try to play with it as well. If the other dogs want to play with me, I am down. I am not a huge player but I do enjoy a game of wrestle or chase every now and then. If you want to take me out in public with me, I am down. I am both friendly and sweet when it comes to meeting new people. If you want a dog who will keep you company at night, I am down. I like to sleep in a dog bed close to you, or sometimes will even sleep in bed with you. If you are looking for a dog that plays fetch....I don't know how. So, I can't promise you that. I also cannot promise you that I like water since I have not had the chance to go swimming yet.

I can tell you that I am potty trained. However, I am not kennel trained. I will bark and cry when in one. I want to be next to my people or with the other dogs, not kenneled. The good news though is that I do well with free roam of the house. I have access to the doggie door, and tend to just sleep while my foster dad is away. I have not been a destructive chewer, but I will keep you on your toes. I will steal towels or bath mats if you are not paying attention ;) I am a Great Pyrenees which means that I will bark if I feel that something is off or if I need to alert you of something. However, I do settle down with calm voice commands. I am used to having a big yard to explore and don't believe that I would handle apartment life well. I would prefer a house with a big backyard that I can explore and play in but then come inside and pass out after.

I am good with other dogs and enjoy playing with them. I would be happy having a doggie friend in my new home, but it isn't a must if my owner was home most of the day. I am not being fostered around cats, so cannot say for sure how I would do with them. I am on the calmer side, so think I would be okay with a proper introduction. I have been around a couple 12-year-old boys, and did wonderful with them! I even hopped up in bed with them and stretched out right next to them.

It is crazy just how much things can change in a few short weeks. I have grown quite fond of getting to be inside and with my people and the other dogs. I have embraced the life of being a couch potato, and I would like to continue living this life. I am looking for a family that is a good mix of playful and calm. One that likes to explore and have fun outside, but then just crash on the couch and watch a good movie after. I am looking for a family that will include me in their activities, cuddle with me, and love me forever. I have already been an until dog, and now it is time to be a forever dog! ♥

If you believe that I am the PYRfect addition to your family, please apply for me at

Once your app comes in, it will be sent on to my foster family. This is to help ensure that not only am I a good fit for you but that you are also a good fit for me! ?

I am currently residing in Broken Arrow, OK. If you have fallen in love with me and are out of state, how about a road trip? I think it would be quite a memorable adventure and a great way to kick off our new life together.

My adoption fee is $250.
That will include my DHLPP, Rabies, and Bordetella. I will be micro-chipped, have a fecal done, be de-wormed, be spayed/neutered, and will be current on heart-worm and flea/tick prevention.


-Below is an excerpt from Chipster's foster family.

"Chipster is not a needy guy, but he wants an active owner that will give him lots of rubs and snuggle time. He needs a little outdoor activity. In his previous home, Chipster's older brother was very dominant, and Chip didn't get as much food or attention as he needed. So he is a little bit small for a male Pyr. Over the past few weeks, he has really come out his shell and become a great dog to have around. He is taking well to training and learns fast."

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets



  • Great Pyrenees
  • Adult
  • Male