Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Celeste's Story Great Pyrenees Kiowa, OK

  • Young
  • Female
  • Large
  • White / Cream


Coat length
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs, cats, children.
Adoption fee

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Considering Celeste's Story for adoption?

Start Your Inquiry Start Your Inquiry

Meet Celeste's Story

-Written by Celeste, a 1-year-old 66lb female Great Pyrenees.

Oh my, I cannot believe that I am doing this. Actually, I cannot believe that I ever have had time to do this! Being a mom is a full-time job and my puppies have kept me very busy lately. I am sorry I hadn't shared more updates about myself, but things have been a bit of a whirlwind lately. Oh! Where are my manners! I haven't even introduced myself yet. My name is Celeste and I am a 1-year-old female Great Pyrenees mix. Please excuse my coat. It wasn't all that long ago that I was a malnourished stray that didn't have a thing to her name. Then throw in having puppies and my self-care went out the window!

I am a very chill girl. I will patrol the 2-acre yard but then like to come inside and get my lovins and sit right next to you. There was a time my life wasn't so simple though. I don't know that I ever had a home before...and if I did I don't believe it was a good one. As far as I know, I never even had a real name. I spent most of my short life roaming the streets. I was a scrapper short and simple. There was never time for fun. I was in constant survival mode. Trying to find food. Trying to find water. Trying to avoid those who may not be so kind to me. The day everything changed for me was when I met a very handsome stranger. I was still often hungry, and life still sucked but he made it less sucky. I was no longer alone and we traveled together for a while. It wasn't long after that I found out we would be having puppies. I had no idea how we would raise the puppies given our living circumstances...but I knew we would make it work.

I was just a few days away from giving birth when the unthinkable happened. We ventured into the wrong part of town and before we know it we were surrounded by a pack of dogs. We ended up getting attacked and my partner tried his best to protect me. I guess someone witnessed what happened and we ended up being picked up. Some of the dogs escaped...including my partner. I ended up being brought to the animal shelter, and it wasn't long before I gave birth. The shelter was not set up for a mom and puppies and tried networking with us like crazy to get us out. I was so worried about what would come of my puppies and me but thankfully a foster ended up stepping up for us and we ended up here.

We have been in a loving foster home ever since, and it is truly amazing. At first, I was petrified though, and tried hiding. I had never been in a house before. I was scared and felt more alone than I ever had been. As time went by and I saw how kind and loving everyone was to me and my puppies I realized that for the first time in a very long time... perhaps for the first time ever...I was safe.

There is a lot of things to know and learn when it comes to being part of the family. I am learning that I cannot potty in the house, and to go outside. I just about have the whole "potty trained" thing down. I have been introduced to the kennel, but am not the biggest fan of it. It takes treats to coax me in, and then I will bark when I want out. I have not been a big chewer though, and haven't really gotten into anything that I shouldn't. As far as barking, I am a Great Pyrenees and take my job of patrolling the yard seriously. I will bark if I hear or see something off, or when I want back inside.

I am happiest when I am with my people. I LOVE car rides because it means I get to go somewhere with my people and not be left at home all alone. I have been to the vet and tractor supply and did well. I may initially bark at strangers, but once they get closer I will greet them in a friendly manner and welcome pets. I do well on walks and am working on my leash manners. I think that I would enjoy being out and about with my family. Be it road trips, camping, hikes, pet-friendly restaurants, etc. I have spent so much of my life being alone, that I just love getting to be part of my family's activities. If my family were more homebodies, I also believe I would be happy with that lifestyle. I can nap and cuddle like no other so just chilling at home sounds fun too. As long as you are there with me, I am one happy pup! ♥

I am good with other dogs and may engage in some light play with them. I believe that I would be happy in a home with or without other dogs. However, my focus usually falls on my people, and would prefer they be home most of the day. I do well with cats, and once I get used to them don't pay them much attention. I am good with kids and love spending time with them. I am a bigger girl and may jump or bump into them when I get really excited so the kids should probably be older.

It is almost time for my puppies to go home, which means I should have been able to go home soon as well. As it turns out though, I am going to need to stay in foster care a little longer. My recent vet visit revealed that I was heartworm positive. So, once my puppies have been adopted and I have been spayed I will be starting my heartworm treatment. We are estimating that I should be able to go home sometime at the end of June or early July.

Well, I have shared all that I can about myself. I really hope that we are a match.

Please I am begging you though, only apply to adopt me if you can keep me forever. If you can't keep me through ALL of life's changes, don't be the one that makes me have to be passed around a few months/years down the line. That just isn't fair to me.

I would NEVER give up on you, so please don't give up on me. I want to be your forever...not your until dog.
Application to adopt Celeste

Location: Claremore, OK
-Adopters must be able to pick up their new dog, with no exceptions.

Adoption Fee: $250 Includes: Two rounds of the DHLPP, Rabies, Bordetella, Fecal, Deworming, Heartworm Test, Micro-Chip, Spay, and she will be current heartworm and flea/tick prevention.


~This poor girl has had a ROUGH life. She was found roaming the streets with a pack of male dogs attacking her while she was pregnant. She had a companion that stayed with her trying to protect her but he was not captured. She came to our home running to the crawl space door and hiding under the house. She is now more comfortable and roams the yard like she is doing her job. Protecting. She has been the very best mommy to her babies. She has been protective of them but is getting better with strangers and other dogs being around them now. She is 100% a sweetheart. She is friendly to everyone she meets and just wants love and affection. She is a gentle eater. She will run to the truck and instantly hop in ready to go for a ride. She will be by your side at all times. She loves people. She would be perfect for just about any type of home or family. She deserves nothing but the best. She will be someone's favorite companion!

Celeste would do well in just about any home or lifestyle. She just yearns to be near her people and receive any form of affection. She is a roamer so needs a secure yard and to be leashed outside of one. She still has some puppy in her. She has been caught counter surfing and getting extra helpings of food from the bag. The girl LOVES to eat!~

Considering Celeste's Story for adoption?

Start Your Inquiry Start Your Inquiry

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets

Celeste's Story

Celeste's Story

  • Great Pyrenees
  • Young
  • Female