Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Catan Border Collie Kiowa, OK

  • Young
  • Female
  • Large
  • Black, Bicolor

About

Coat length
Medium
House-trained
Yes
Health
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Cats, children.
Adoption fee
$250.00

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Catan

"Catan is a very sensitive and loving girl. Nothing makes her happier than a little time and attention from her family. She has excellent house manners and can be trusted with the run of the house. She is super excited to see her people when they get home and will wag and wiggle and stand up to give you hugs and kisses and make sure you know how much she missed you. This girl will love you with her whole heart and soul and do her absolute best to watch over everyone and let you know that you are the most important thing to her ??

Catan loves kids and loves people. A home where she gets to be included and go for lots of walks and get lots of attention would make her happy"

-From Catan's foster mom ^
_______________________________________________________________

I have always loved people. I love getting pets from them and I love getting to spend time with them. However, there was a time when I was all alone. Was it because I was dumped? Or because my owner let me roam and I got myself lost? I do not know. I do know that I spent many days and nights on my own, just wandering around and looking for a place to belong. When I came upon a handsome traveler, I couldn't help but hang out with him for a little while. He was so nice and I enjoyed not always being so alone. Things were not meant to be between us though, and eventually, we ended up splitting and I went on my way once more. As the weeks went by, I quickly realized something...I was pregnant. I soon became terrified. How was I supposed to care for my puppies when I couldn't even find any food for myself. I was I supposed to keep them safe and protected if I couldn't even find shelter for myself? I tried even harder to find a place to belong. I tried going up to people more and more and eventually, someone picked me up. At first, I was so excited...it only last a little while though because soon I found myself behind bars.

Instead of roaming the streets, I was now in the shelter. I now had food and water, but this was still not the place to have my puppies. There are so many diseases in the shelter that my puppies could catch and along with that the shelter simply wasn't set up for a mom and puppies. That didn't matter though because a couple days later I ended up having 8 beautiful puppies. The shelter cared for me the best they could but I simply could not stay there. I needed out and I needed out quick and thankfully a foster family stepped up for me and my puppies and I joined this rescue's fluffy butt family shortly after.

My name is Catan and I am a 2-year-old, 50lb female Border Collie mix. I am good with other dogs, but as of right now I am still in defensive mode with them. If everything is calm and nice, I do great with other dogs. However, if one startles me or if they let out a low growl or sounds anything other than normal then I do try to go after them. It may still be my hormones since I am still around my pups and feel the need to protect them, but if my new family had other dogs they would need to be pretty chill and calm. I absolutely love attention and enjoy spending time with my people and definitely believe that I could be the only dog in my new home. I do great with the cat and keep trying to befriend her...so far she just keeps trying to ignore me. One day hopefully we will be the besties that I believe we could be! ;) I love kids and am very gentle around them. I do believe that I would do great around kids of all ages as long as they were respectful of my space.

I do great on car rides and am eager to go places with my family. I have not been to any public outings yet since I have been nursing my pups. I love meeting new people and am always eager to make new friends. I love going on walks and do really well on the leash. I don't pull at all. I do believe that I would very much enjoy going on hikes with my new family. I will stand up and give my people an actual hug but I would really call that jumping since I am pretty gentle about it. I did great when I met my foster family's dogs, but as mentioned above heightened nervous or growly energy from the other dogs may cause me to become reactive at this time. I love spending time with my people and would be happy pretty much wherever they are. I would love getting to go places with them and meet new people, but I would also be happy just chilling at home and going on walks here and there.

I am not interested in playing fetch and have not played with any toys yet. I have not had the chance to play in any water yet. My personality can be described as very sweet loving, and protective. Given my energy level, I do believe that I would do well in an apartment setting.

I am potty trained but have no experience being kenneled. I have not been a big chewer in my foster home. I tend to only bark if something unfamiliar comes wandering out to the fence outside. When no one is home, I stay in the puppy room with my pups and do great.

If you are interested in adopting me and offering me FUREVER, you can apply for me at
https://www.pyrpawsandfluffytailsrescue.com/adoption-app

Once this app comes in, it will be sent on to my foster family. This is to help ensure that not only am I a good fit for you but that you are also a good fit for me! ?

I am currently residing in Skiatook, OK. I do ask that my new family pick me up, none of that outside transport stuff. If I am going to move in with you, I expect to start our journey in the car together driving home TOGETHER. ?

My adoption fee is $250.00.
That will include my DHLPP, Rabies, and Bordetella. I will be micro-chipped, have a fecal done, be de-wormed, be spayed/neutered, and will be current on heartworm and flea/tick prevention.

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets

Catan

Catan

  • Border Collie
  • Young
  • Female