Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Booker Pit Bull Terrier Mix Oxford, MI

  • Adult
  • Male
  • Large


Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Booker

Hey everyone! Booker here coming to you from my foster home. If you’re reading this, you must be looking for a handsome pup to add to your family. Please read more to learn why that could be me!

Although I had a rough go of it when I first arrived at K9 due being heartworm positive, the volunteers at the kennel said I handled it like a champ, never letting anything get me down. Everyone is always telling me how proud they are of me that I’ve maintained my happy-go-lucky attitude through it all. They say I’m a bit of a ham and can’t help but smile when we’re together.

I know some adoptable pups don’t recognize their name, but I sure do. Every time my foster family calls me, I come running. They like me so much they’ve even come up with a few nicknames for me including “Book Boy”, “Book Buddy” and “Bookie”.
My foster family says I have a good appetite, but I’m not one to gobble down my food. I prefer to take my time, and savor the flavor. While I do enjoy treats, I can’t say I go crazy for them, just happy to have them and I take them very gently when offered. I won’t bother you while you are at the table eating, but will instead lay quietly in the next room. I also haven’t tried going after food sitting on kitchen counter, which is just another example of my great manners. My foster family thinks I must have been trained to stay out of the kitchen and away from the table since I do it so well.

So far at my foster home, I’ve yet to have an accident in the house. Are you impressed yet?

Like most pups, I do enjoy my fair share of toys, though between you and me, they never seem to last too long… Given my strong build, I’ll need some tough toys that can withstand the test of time at your place. Since I can be a pretty enthusiastic guy, I can’t help but get a little rough when I’m playing. For this reason, everyone says I need to go to a home where any kids are eight years old and up. That’s fine with me as I realize I can be a bit clumsy sometimes. My foster family is working with me on learning to keep four on the floor, and I’m trying my best to be a good student.

I have to admit, when I first meet new men, I can be a little scared. However, give me some time and I promise it’ll be worth the wait. When I first arrived at my foster home, I was a little timid around the guys, but have made excellent progress in a very short period of time and I don’t play favorites when it comes to cuddling.
As for the ladies…what can I say except that they love me and I love them! I think I’d do best in a home where there was at least one woman to help put me at ease. I’m super affectionate and even though I’m a big boy at 67 pounds, it doesn’t stop me from trying to get in your lap. I’m happiest when I’m close to you.

Some of my favorite things… snuggling on the couch is at the top of my list! I’ll come over and gently lay my head on your lap. If you let me, I’ll be snoring in no time! When I’d like attention, I will softly remind you by putting my head under your hand for a pet. If you’re looking for a copilot for a road trip, I’m your man. I prefer to sit shotgun right next to you so I can see where we are headed on our adventures.

Let’s talk walks now which are another one of my favorite things. The majority of the time, I’m pretty good on a leash. However, when I smell something interesting or see a new critter, I just can’t help but get excited. My foster family is working with me on this and I have no doubt I’ll improve over time. Given my energy level, a home where I get daily walks/playtime is a must. Who wouldn’t want to hang out with me!

Regarding other pups in the home, I’d have to say I prefer female dogs. I’m always up for a meet and greet with any dogs that may already be living with you. Let’s do this!

As for my repertoire of tricks, it keeps getting better and better every day! I’ve mastered “sit” and am making great progress with “down”, “leave it” and “drop it”.
When it comes to bedtime, I prefer my space and have no issues sleeping through the night. Currently, I’m snoozing on the couch in the den, and I gotta say it’s awesome! If you think you might want me to sleep in a crate at your place, I could probably be ok with that too.

If you’ve got a feeling I’m the dog you’ve been searching for, please fill out an application at and my one of my friends will be in touch. See you soon!
  • Location Address

    2120 Metamora Road
    Oxford, MI 48371

  • day hours
    Monday Closed
    Tuesday Closed
    Wednesday Closed
    Thursday 1 - 4 p.m. No Appointment Necessary
    Friday 1 - 4 p.m. No Appointment Necessary
    Saturday 12 noon - 4 p.m. No Appointment Necessary
    Sunday 11- 3 p.m. No Appointment Necessary
More about Us

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets



  • Pit Bull Terrier
  • Adult
  • Male