Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Blue Australian Shepherd Sterling, VA

  • Young
  • Male
  • Medium
  • Merle (Blue)


Coat length
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs.
Prefers a home without
Cats, children.
Adoption fee

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Blue

Blue is coming soon!!

Hey everyone I'm Blue! I am looking for my forever parents! I am a 1.5 year old 21lb mini Aussie. I live with my foster dad in Sterling, Virginia. But my foster dad can help drive me to the perfect fit if they are a ways away.

I love to snuggle. If you let me I will always be snuggling with you. I am looking for a new family without kids, because they scare me. Earlier in the year I was so scared I bit one that got too close. I love human food but my foster dad won't let me have any unless it has some weird capsule in it.

My training is a little slow so some patient parents would be best. I am trying my best to get all the pets, belly rubs, and cheese I can. I am very responsive in the house. I have learned come, sit, stay, spin, kennel, upstairs, bedroom, and bedtime. But my outside listening skills still need work.

If my future parents have access to a bigger backyard this would be great for me to work on those skills.

I love to guard my home and love to scare off people walking by with my barking. My foster dad has been trying to help me build up my trust with other people, so I don't need to scare everyone off, but I still don't trust all the other people. I like making new friends but it takes a bit of time. But if the new friends bring cheese or freeze dried treats, we become bff's really fast.

I absolutely love my big sister Piper. We play tug, chase, and wrestle all day long. And when we get tired, we love to nap together near the AC vent. The AC vent is the best nap place ever. I hope my new parents put my bed near an ac vent. If I am not with my sister I love to chew on things I am not supposed to and get into things that I am not supposed to. So I hope my future parents have another dog that can be my new brother or sister.

There is a black cat in my house that I love to chase but my foster dad won't let me. I don't trust him I think he has put a spell on dad's roommate.

I recently got to start going to the Aussies Club with my foster dad and big sister. I have had so much fun getting to meet all the other dogs. I hope my future parents can take me to event's like this. So far my favorite event was getting to go to a winery that had a pond with geese in it. My foster dad let me jump into the pond to play with the geese but they had to go home for the day when I got close.

So if you think you have that spot in your home and family, toss in an application and come meet me I can't wait to meet you!

Cliff notes version:
No kids
Minor resource guarding for bones
Large fenced in area access preferred for training.
Tug toys are his favorite toys
Affection motivated
High value treat motivated (cheese, freeze dried meat, carrots)
Couch and bed potato
Would be better place in a home with existing dogs
Stage 5 clinger and cuddler.
Loves car rides
Kennel trained but would prefer to sleep in the bed with you
Potty trained
Good basic command foundation

Here is our application:

All adoption fees are used for future rescue efforts.

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets



  • Australian Shepherd
  • Young
  • Male