Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Babushka Great Pyrenees & Saint Bernard Mix Kiowa, OK

  • Adult
  • Female
  • Large
  • Brown / Chocolate, White / Cream

About

Coat length
Long
House-trained
Yes
Health
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs, cats, children.
Adoption fee
$225.00

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Think you and Babushka might be a match?

Meet Babushka

Babushka is ready to share her story! ?

Hey guys, how are you doing today? You guys wouldn't happen to be in the market for a big ole fluffball of a pup, would you? Because if you were looking, I would LOVE to be your new girl! Oh, I should probably tell you my name. Silly me, I get so distracted sometimes that...of wait right..a name. My name is Babushka and I am a 4-year-old female Great Pyrenees/Saint Bernard mix. I am a big girl and weigh around 96lbs.

I don't have the past that many of these other dogs do. I was loved, very loved actually. I grew up with an amazing family and things were great. Sadly, life sometimes changes in ways that no one could have predicted. And in this instance, it meant that my owners had to give me up. They wanted to make sure I ended up somewhere safe and surrendered me to this rescue. I know it wasn't easy for them and it wasn't for me either.

The thing is, sometimes people are not always meant to stay in your life. They are just meant to pass through so while I will always cherish my memories with them, I know that I have another amazing family waiting to welcome me home. One that will be my forever and ever! ♥
____________________________________________________________________

Before you jump into adopting me, be sure to read everything about me. Don't adopt me because I am pretty, adopt me because you know without a doubt that my personality would fit wonderfully within your family ;)

-How can someone adopt me?
The first step is to fill out an adoption app for me at https://www.pyrpawsandfluffytailsrescue.com/adoption-app
Once this app comes in, it will get sent on to my foster family and they will help me decide if we are a match or not.

-Where are you being fostered? Would I need to pick you up? Can I adopt you even if I don't live in Oklahoma?
I am being fostered in Norman, OK. Yes, you would need to pick me up. This rescue does not send us on transports. It is less stress on us that way. Plus, you and I can already start bonding on the road trip home! ?Yes, I am okay moving to a new state,

-Do I do well with strangers?
Most definitely! I am friendly and excited, I love making new friends!

-Do you enjoy going places?
I have only been to the vet. I have been curious and wanted to play with other dogs, but not uncontrollable.

-Do you enjoy walks?
I do well on a leash and do great when my foster takes me on walks.

-Do you like road trips?
YEP! I am a car dog and do great on road trips.

-Can I trust you to free-roam the house, even if I am away?
Yes. I have not shown to be a big chewer in my foster home. I have free-roam of the living room when my fosters are away and do well. At night, I like sleeping in the bedroom with them. I alternate between their bed and the cool tile floor.

-Are you potty trained? What about kennel trained?
Yes, I am potty trained. As far as the kennel goes, my fosters have not needed to kennel me. So, I have no experience being in one.

-What do you like to do for fun?
Well, I LOVE my people! And while my foster family doesn't have any other dogs, I am betting that I would have a blast playing with other dogs. I am always so excited when I see them. I seem uninterested in playing fetch and haven't shown much interest in playing with toys. I am unsure if I am a water dog or not.

-Would you do okay living in an apartment?
I believe I would be fine. As long as I have a cool place to lie and a good exercise in place!

-Are you good with dogs? What about cats? Can I trust you with my kids?
I am playful with other dogs, and definitely want to befriend them whenever I see one. I am not being fostered around cats, but my former owner said I was good with them. As far as kids go, I am not a fan of small or high-energy kids. I do great with my fosters 8-year-old, but their hyper/active 4-year-old is a bit much for me. I will let her know when it is time to leave me be.

-Is there anything else that I need to know about you? Any quirks?
I can be protective over my food and may give warning growls. However, when you say my name I stop. I don't seem to have any issues with resource guarding. I do like giving hugs sometimes, so hopefully, my new family is okay with that. I do bark when I see people walking on the street, other than that I don't seem to be a huge barker.

-Can I hear what your foster has to say about you?
"Babs is friendly and loving, and just wants to hang out with you and be your friend. She is close to 100lbs, and she doesn’t seem to realize how big she is. She would love to spend her time sitting on your lap. She does great with my 8-year-old, but my hyper-active 4 year old is a bit much for her and Babs has snapped at her a few times when she gets too loud or too close to her face. She is currently an only dog and is doing well, but I’m sure she misses having four-legged friends around her. I have never caught her chewing on anything, no digging, no accidents in the house. She does bark when she sees people walking outside, but it’s generally manageable. She will be a great addition to someone’s family. If you like big dogs, this beautiful gentle giant might be the right girl for you!"
____________________________________________________________________

Phew! That took longer than I thought! Hopefully, all your questions about me were answered though! Before you apply to adopt me I have a few last things that I would like to discuss!

~ I would do best with another dog, though I am currently the only dog in my foster home. I would do best with another large, low-energy dog. Ideally, I would like to go to a home without small kids, or with quiet older children. I am very large, but am actually a really high jumper, and will need a 6 ft fence. Mainly, I would love to be a part of a loving, cuddly, quiet household. ~

If you fit most of the above, then fill out that app and bring me home! Because I am ready! ?

*My adoption fee is $225. That includes DHLPP, Rabies, and Bordatella shots. I will be micro-chipped, heart-worm tested, have a fecal done, be de-wormed, be spayed/neutered, and will be current on heart-worm and flea/tick prevention.

Think you and Babushka might be a match?

Help provide for Babushka's care

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets

Babushka

Babushka

  • Great Pyrenees
  • Adult
  • Female