Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Athena Pit Bull Terrier Saint Paul, MN

  • Adult
  • Female
  • Medium

About

House-trained
Yes
Health
Spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs.
Prefers a home without
Cats.

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Athena

Name: Athena

Nicknames: Nina, sweet/goofy girl, Ms. Lady

Age: 1-2 years

Activity level: moderate. I'm still learning to be a dog, so my energy level can be up and down.

Things I do in my free time: learning how to be a dog! My foster humans are showing me these cool things called toys! However, snuggling under blankets next to my humans is my favorite thing in the whole world.

Things I know: My name, sit, wait/stay.

Things I'm currently working on: Walking nicely on a leash. My humans use a gentle leader and say I do great on walks when I wear it! I'm also learning to settle when I'm in my kennel. I still think it's kind of scary, but I'm getting better.

Who I currently live with: Two adult humans, two cats and a dog

How I do with kids: Unknown at this time, as I do not currently live with children.

How I do with dogs: I like my foster brother and sometimes I even try to play with him. Outside on walks, new dogs and people can be a little intimidating so I approach with caution.

How I do with cats: Even though I live with two cats, they don't like me very much so I don't see them too often. But due to my high prey drive (squirrels and bunnies look so tasty!), my humans think I should be in a home without cats.

My current size: 42lbs but I'm pretty slim so my humans think I will get bigger.

How I do in my kennel: I'm still working on feeling comfortable sleeping in my kennel alone at night. During the day while my humans are at work, I may whine and bark right away, but they think I settle down eventually.

How I do in car rides: I haven't been on too many, but the ones I have been on have been a little scary. I look to my humans for comfort, which is tough while they're driving. So it's best if I stay in my crate on car rides.

Am I house trained: 99% yes. When kept on a routine, I am great at doing my business outside. But I've had a couple accidents in the house when I've forgotten to give my humans my cue to go outside.

Additional info from foster: Athena is an absolute doll. She is so loving to her people, and loves to snuggle on the couch. Due to her history, she has some separation anxiety and is fearful of other dogs and people out on walks. But in our time together, she has made a lot of progress and I know she will continue to make that progress with a dedicated person or family. She will need a strong and loving home to not only love her, but to build her confidence as well. Her personality has really started to shine, and she becomes more happy and playful by the day! Athena came to MPBR pregnant and gave birth to 7 puppies on October 27th. Now is Athena's turn to know what love is and we can't wait to see where the future takes her.

If you're interested in meeting Athena, please fill out an application at www.mnpitbull.com We CANNOT move forward until we receive an application. Even if you're only interested, please fill out an application at mnpitbull.com. We will respond within 24-48 hours (M-F) after receiving your inquiry. Included medical in the adoption: Spay/Neuter, 1-DHPP, Rabies, Microchip, 4DX, & Fecal.
More about Us

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets

Athena

Athena

  • Pit Bull Terrier
  • Adult
  • Female