Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Angelica's Story Great Pyrenees & Golden Retriever Mix Kiowa, OK

  • Adult
  • Female
  • Large
  • White / Cream


Coat length
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs, cats.
Adoption fee

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Considering Angelica's Story for adoption?

Start Your Inquiry Start Your Inquiry

Meet Angelica's Story

-Written by Angelica, a 6-year-old 86lb female Great Pyrenees/Golden Retriever mix.

Hello there, my name is Angelica, but people call me Angel. I am estimated to be around 6 years old. I am a very sweet and pretty chill girl. I love pets and am not afraid to give you a nudge or head bump when I want attention. I also don't mind getting all up in your space when I want attention either. Some may call me needy, but I consider myself to be a lover. Plain and Simple.

To know my story, we have to back a few years. When I first ended up in the shelter. I cannot remember how that happened, but I do remember getting adopted. I was so excited. I had a home. A family. Things aren't always as they seem to be though. That family didn't take very good care of me, and I spent a lot of time outside all by myself. I started getting bored and wandering off. Which resulted in me getting picked up and taken to the shelter a few times. My coat was a mess, and I just didn't look to be in good shape when my owners finally agreed to surrender me back to the shelter. Sadly, the shelter was quite full, and needed to find a place for me to go. They reached out to this rescue, and I joined their fluffy butt family soon after.

It was a welcome change to go from being mostly outside and alone, to a family where I could come inside and feel like I belong. My coat had to be shaved down sadly because it was too matted and full of burrs to save. My tail also seems like it had been broken at one point. I am unsure what happened to it, but it doesn't seem to bother me. It was also discovered that I was heartworm positive. I am currently undergoing treatment for that and will be ready to go home around mid-June.

If you choose to bring me home, I can assure you that I am potty trained. I can also assure you that I am out of the chewing stage and have not chewed anything up in my foster home. I can assure you that I don't need to be kenneled. As far as I know, I have no experience of being in one and it isn't necessary for me. You can also trust that I will do just fine having free roam of the house, even if you are gone. I also believe that I would do well in an apartment setting. I am a pretty laid-back girl with the occasional spurt of playfulness. I do want to mention that I bark, but no more than your average dog I would say.

You can also trust me to be good with your dogs. I may initially growl at them since I don't know them and don't appreciate them getting all up in my space. However, once I know them I am mostly indifferent to them. If there is a really playful dog, I will sometimes engage in some light play with them but only for a little. I am being fostered around cats and can confirm that I do well with them. I am not currently being fostered around any kids. I am a pretty gentle girl that loves to love so feel I would do well with them. I just hope they are respectful of me and my space as I don't think I could handle them climbing all over me or pulling my ears/tail.

If you are looking for a dog to take everywhere with you, it is hard to say if I am her. I love being with my people and would love to be wherever my people are. I do load well into the car but can be a little restless and will move around a lot. I have not really been anywhere but the vet so far. If I could choose, I would probably choose a calmer lifestyle with some walks and adventures here and there. A super active lifestyle where we are always going places I would do if my people wanted to because I want to be with them. However, I don't know that it would be something that I love...but rather something I would do for my people. I am a very friendly girl and am always eager to befriend new people.

Well, I have shared all that I can about myself. I really hope that we are a match.

Please I am begging you though, only apply to adopt me if you can keep me forever. If you can't keep me through ALL of life's changes, don't be the one that makes me have to be passed around a few months/years down the line. That just isn't fair to me.
Application to adopt Angelica

Location: Kiowa, OK
-Adopters must be able to pick up their new dog, with no exceptions.

Adoption Fee: $250 Includes: Two rounds of the DHLPP, Rabies, Bordetella, Fecal, Deworming, Heartworm Test, Micro-Chip, Spay, and she will be current heartworm and flea/tick prevention.


~Angelica is one of the easiest fosters we have had. She is calm and fits right into our pack. She will sometimes play with the other dogs, but mostly spends her days napping or lying on the couch with us. She can be a bit pushy when it comes to attention and will keep nudging you, but it's all out of love. She just doesn't understand that you can't pet her for several hours straight, haha!

Angel has excellent house manners and is potty trained, not a chewer, and can easily be trusted to free roam the house. She does well with the cats and pretty much ignores them. Her coat did have to be shaved, but you can see a pretty mix of white and golden on her face so we are excited to see what she looks like once her full coat comes back in. Angel is about 86lbs but she doesn't look like it at all. She is on the shorter side and just doesn't look that big. As they say, looks can be deceiving. ;)

Angel would do amazing in pretty much any home environment. If she had her choice, she would probably prefer a calmer lifestyle. She LOVES people though and would happily do anything that they ask of her. So, if they wanted to go on an adventure she would be waiting at the door to go with them. ~

Considering Angelica's Story for adoption?

Start Your Inquiry Start Your Inquiry

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets

Angelica's Story

Angelica's Story

  • Great Pyrenees
  • Adult
  • Female