Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Alva's Story Australian Shepherd Kiowa, OK

  • Senior
  • Female
  • Large
  • Red / Chestnut / Orange, White / Cream


Coat length
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs, cats.

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Alva's Story

-Written by Alva, a 7-year-old, 52lb female Aussie mix.

Wow, I cannot seem to catch a break. I did not see myself ending up in rescue again, but then again I never saw myself ending up in rescue the first time around. Being returned to rescue stirs up some old memories for me. Before I ever even came to the rescue I had a family that I loved dearly. I was about 5 years old when I first came into rescue, and I had been with my previous family since I was only 6 weeks old! I thought we were destined to be together forever, they were my people and I loved them dearly. I guess that is why I was in such shock when I was handed over to the wonderful folks at this rescue. It was pretty sad, I kept trying to hide behind my owner's leg. I didn't want to leave, I wanted to stay with them. Unfortunately, I had come out heart-worm positive and they couldn't afford treatment along with that they had too many pets already. They wanted to make sure I ended up somewhere safe and got the care I needed so they surrendered me to this rescue. I was pretty confused for the first few days, I mean I was with that family since I was six weeks old.

I accepted that we were simply not meant to be though, and focused on finding a new family. I was positive that this next family would be my forever. I couldn't have the bad luck of it not working out again. And it did happen. I did get adopted and they loved me dearly at first. However, a couple years down the road and some pretty big changes for them left me feeling out of sorts and I no longer fit well into the lifestyle of my family. I get stressed easily if there is a lot of traffic in and out of the house and along with that my owner had some health issues going on that often took her away from me. All around, it just wasn't a good match-up all around. So, my family ended up surrendering me back to the rescue. So, here I am. At 7 years old...I am once again searching for a family....for someone that will never give up on me.

My name is Alva, but I also go by Abbey since that is what my last family called me. I am a bit overweight, but what people call chunky I call "fluffy". I really do love my food ;). It would be great if my new family would be up for the task of helping me lose a couple pounds as I am about 52lbs now and should probably be in the lower 40lb range. I am very much the kind of girl that thrives on routine and stability. I am not someone who enjoys people always coming in and out of the home. I prefer a calmer environment where I know what is going to happen and when. I will play fetch with my people, but I tend to only meet you halfway. I gotta make sure that you are getting your exercise in too! I am just thoughtful like that. :) It took about a week but I am now showing some interest in toys. As of right now, I don't seem to be obsessed with them or anything though.

I have adjusted well to the other dogs in my foster home. I have never growled or shown the slightest aggression. A week later I am just now instigating running-type play. I have fantastic manners during mealtime and don't try to steal food. And will sit right down with the other dogs for treats. I am a nervous dog, especially in the beginning so having a doggie friend would probably help however if my adoptive parents were with me all time time that would make me one HAPPY girl. I do great with cats. I am calm and indifferent to them. Even when one of the cats rubbed up against me, I just took that opportunity to get a good sniff. I am not really a kid dog. It is not that I am aggressive with them or anything like that. However, I do get really nervous/anxious and just don't handle a lot of activity/noise well and may bark or growl and try to get away.

I am not a social butterfly. I am that really awkward dog that isn't really sure what to do with strangers. I do best if they just ignore me, and give me the time to come up and sniff on my own. I may not have the best social skills, but at least you don't have to worry about me jumping on anyone because I am more apt to stay back. I have not really been anywhere besides my foster home which suits me just fine. As I mentioned, I am very much a homebody that enjoys her routine. I am not someone who loves going on adventures and out and about. I am perfectly content living an adventurous life by watching movies with my family. If we do need to go somewhere, I will hop right in the car. I may pant a lot but other than that ride well in the car. Now, I may not be someone who wants to be dragged all over town but I LOVE walks. I will actually talk to you for the first half of the walk, expressing just how happy I am that we went on a walk together. Given my age, I don't know how I would do with hikes. If my family tailored it to my needs/stamina I would probably enjoy it given how much I love walks.

If my new family lived a quieter lifestyle, I do believe that I would be okay living in an apartment. I can be a talker though, so that is something to keep in mind. I am fully potty trained and have not had an accident with my foster family. I have no experience of being kenneled since it is not necessary for me. I am out of my chewing stage and haven't gotten into anything that I shouldn't. I will bark if the other dog's bark because there is activity going on outside the house, but other than that wouldn't say I am a big barker. I have free roam of the house, even if my foster family is away, and do well.

Well, I have shared all that I can about myself. I really hope that we are a match.

Please I am begging you though, only apply to adopt me if you can keep me forever. If you can't keep me through ALL of life's changes, don't be the one that makes me have to be passed around a few months/years down the line. That just isn't fair to me.

I would NEVER give up on you, so please don't give up on me. I want to be your forever...not your until dog.
Application to adopt Alva

Location: Broken Arrow, OK
-Adopters must be able to pick up their new dog, with no exceptions.

Adoption Fee: $150 Includes: Two rounds of the DHLPP, Rabies, Bordetella, Fecal, Deworming, Heartworm Test, Micro-Chip, Spay, and she will be current heartworm and flea/tick prevention.


~Alva has been such an easy foster. She has had zero conflicts with our pack and once she got used to us it was cute having a little shadow. She is a Velcro dog but NOT under foot. She even pushed open the front door to get to me and didn't run off but stayed right by me!! (Thank God) she is so expressive and happy. (have you seen her smile?!) She will bring someone so much joy and all she asks in return is for you to never have a giant pool party with kids running all over the place!! Oh and to leave the bathroom door open so she can see you. ? She just wants a person, her person who will commit to her for the rest of her life.

Alva's perfect home would be quiet. A person who doesn't mind if she hangs around them all day. One that would take her for walks and let her watch TV with them in the evening or daytime, she won't judge. A home that doesn't throw big, loud parties but chooses to have people over for dinner around the table. People who would give her the time and space to adjust at her own pace.~

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets

Alva's Story

Alva's Story

  • Australian Shepherd
  • Senior
  • Female