Main Content Skip carousel of pet photos and or videos

Alfie Great Pyrenees Kiowa, OK

  • Young
  • Male
  • Large
  • White / Cream, Gray / Blue / Silver


Coat length
Vaccinations up to date, spayed / neutered.
Good in a home with
Other dogs.

Petfinder recommends that you should always take reasonable security steps before making online payments.

Meet Alfie

Alfie Summary ?

Age: 18 Months (Estimated)
Breed: Great Pyrenees, possible mixed with Husky.
Color: Grey&White

Dogs: ?
Playful with other dogs: ?
Kids: Unknown
Cats: Unknown
Potty Trained: ?
Kennel Trained: X
Would like Walks/Hikes: ?
Would enjoy going places: ?
Could be a homebody: ?
Likes Toys: ?
Waterdog: Unknown
Energy Level: Matches the household
Jumps on People: X

Apartment Candidate: ?
Needs another dog in the home: X, but would also do well with other dogs.
Would do well in a calm to medium energy household: ?

Adoption Fee: $250
Includes: DHLPP, Rabies, Bordetella, Fecal, Deworming, Heartworm Test, Micro-Chip, Neuter, and he will be current heartworm and flea/tick prevention.

Alfie is a bit of a "renaissance dog."
He adapts to the situation that he finds himself in at the time. Alfie can be very calm and just wanting cuddles and pets or he can be active and wrestling or chasing or doing zoomies with the other dogs. Alfie is very athletic...can just stand to the side of a 2.5 to 3 foot temporary fence and jump it from a standing position or do the deer leap over it and back with ease. He has not attempted to leap over over 4 foot solid fence at this point, but to be on the safe side, might need a higher fence to keep him safe.
We catch Alfie just sitting in "his spot" on the lawn and just quietly looking around and taking in all the sights and sounds...sort of like "Ferdinand the Bull".
Alfie is a very loving boy and would flourish in a home where he is loved and given lots of attention, even a small pat, every time you walk by him from his humans and to go frequently when they go so he sees that he is a vital part of the family. If you do that, he will love you to the moon and back...let's be real...he would love you to the moon and back even if you didn't do that...but that is what would make him happy and that is what we want for be that happy!

Alfie would do well in a home by himself with attentive parent/s or in a home with another dog. He would do okay in a calm home or a medium active home.

Apply to adopt Alfie at

Please note that you cannot meet any of our dogs without an application. Once we have your application, we can send your app on to Alfie's foster family to help ensure that he is not only a fit for your family, but you are a fit for him as well.

We DO adopt out of state.
However, we do NOT send our dogs on transports. So, if you would like to adopt this sweet boy, please make sure you are able to pick him up in person in a timely manner.

Alfie is being fostered in Oklahoma City, OK so that is the city you would be traveling to for your new fluffy butt! ♥


Hey guys, Alfie here! Welcome to my page! I hope you are ready to hear everything there is to know about me...and hopefully adopt me! I am an 18 month old male Great Pyrenees mix.

My story starts like many of the dogs that pass through this rescue...being abandon by those who I thought were my forever. I don't know why and I don't know how, but one day I ended up all alone in the middle of nowhere. For some dogs, it seems like they automatically know how to survive. For some dogs...dogs like isn't so easy. I sucked at finding food, and definitely wasn't able to catch anything. Locating fresh water sources was not easy for me. Mainly because even when I did find it, I ended up moving on shortly after. I wasn't looking to settle down by myself. No. I was looking for a family. A place to belong. Somewhere to call home. I cannot even say how long I was on my own before someone finally stumbled upon me. At first, I was so excited. I was getting off the streets and into a loving home...this was what I had been hoping and looking for! They loaded me up in the car, and I remember looking out the window imagining what my new life would look like.

It turns out, that my life would become ending up behind bars. I guess wandering around all alone isn't allowed and it landed me in doggie jail. I was told that I would be on stray hold in case someone is looking for me. If only they knew. If only I could have told them that no one is looking for me. That I have no family. No one is looking for me. And didn't that hurt. I had become another homeless dog that was unwanted and now I was behind bars. To make matters worse, I was in a small shelter. One that doesn't get much exposure and doesn't have many kennels. So, it wasn't long after my stray hold that I ended up on the euthanasia list. Yep, I went from being homeless to now facing euthanasia. I just did not understand how this could have become my life. I should have been in a loving home and instead I may never leave the shelter.

Thankfully, a shelter volunteer tried networking me and when this rescue posted me for a foster family...someone stepped up! I went from being hours away from euthanasia to ending up in a very loving foster home. Talk about whiplash in the best way possible! It didn't take me long to adjust, and I am now ready to find my PYRFECT family! ♥

I am good with other dogs and am playful with them. I don't seem to be dependent on them though, and feel that I would also do well as an only dog in my new home. I am not being fostered around cats or kids in my foster home. I believe that I would do well with them though as I am a very sweet guy. I may be a little reserved when meeting new people, but am overall friendly with them. I have good manners and know not to jump up on people. I was initially nervous when I met the other dogs in my foster home. After about a day or so, I was comfortable enough to play, talk, and sleep next to them.

I have only been in the car a few times. I rode well though and liked looking out the window and will sometimes even pass out in the backseat. I have not been to any public outings with my foster family yet. I do like being with my family though, so think I would happy being wherever they are. Whether they are homebodies or social butterflies, I think either lifestyle would suit me just fine. I am a go with the flow kind of guy. I believe I would also enjoy going on walks, and if my family were into it...hikes as well. I will sometimes give chase to thrown toys, but at this time do not bring the toys back. I do like toys and will play with nylabones, wishbones, stuffed toys, and a small ball that I push around on the floor inside. I am unsure if I am a water dog or not. My energy level tends to match that of my family. If they are playful, I am playful. If everyone is passed out and being lazy, I am too.

If my new family lived in a larger apartment and were home a lot, I do think I would do fine in an apartment setting. I am not a huge barker, but I will bark you if I hear or see something out of the norm. I do sometimes have what some may think of as a "husky whine" when I am trying to communicate something. I am potty trained in my foster home. I have been introduced to the kennel. I am not a big fan of being kenneled with the door closed, but will accept it. I have stuck to only chewing on toys in my foster home, and even then I have not destroyed any. With that said, my foster home is puppy proofed and doesn't have a lot of things lying around that I could get into. At night, I like sleeping in the bedroom with my foster family. I have been curious about sleeping in bed with them, but have yet to attempt it..even with an invitiation. I usually end up sleeping on the floor or on a dog bed.

That is all I have to share about myself. I really hope that we are a match. In case you missed it, the app to adopt me can be found at

Please I am begging you though, only apply to adopt me if you can keep me forever. If you can't keep me through ALL of life's changes, don't be the one that makes me have to be passed around a few months/years down the line. That just isn't fair to me.

I would NEVER give up on you, so please don't give up on me. I want to be your forever...not your until dog.

Recommended Content

Recommended Pets

Recommended Pets



  • Great Pyrenees
  • Young
  • Male